THREE LITTLE WORDS

Discover the Power of Your Own Voice

Three Little Words

“Sunshine, you’re my baby and I’m your only mother. You must mind the one taking care of you, but she’s not your mama.”

 


 

 

Three Little Words is an International Bestseller and details the inspiring true story of the nearly ten years Ashley Rhodes-Courter spent in the foster care system.  Despite all odds against her, Ashley triumphed over painful memories and real-life horrors to ultimately find her own voice.

Ashley lived in fourteen different foster homes, including two group homes. As her mother spiraled out of control, Ashley was left clinging to the unpredictable, dissolving relationship, all the while getting pulled deeper and deeper into the foster care system.

Ashley is juggled between caseworkers, shuffled from school to school, and forced to endure manipulative, humiliating treatment from a very abusive foster family. In this inspiring, unforgettable memoir, Ashley finds the courage to succeed, trust, and bring justice and hope to others.

REVIEWS

School Library Journal

“Quiet scenes cut deepest: the author’s description of her only after-school visit to a friend’s home lingers heartbreakingly in one’s mind. This gifted young writer’s moving and eye-opening story will especially appeal to fans of Jeannette Walls’s The Glass Castle and David Pelzer’s autobiographical books.”

Publishers Weekly

The author’s ability to form intelligent, open-minded conclusions about her traumatic childhood demonstrates her remarkable control and insight, and although there are plenty of wrenching moments, she succeeds not in attracting pity but in her stated intention, of drawing attention to the children who currently share the plight that she herself overcame.”

ABOUT ASHLEY

Ashley Rhodes-Courter is the quintessential American success story.  Born in 1985 to a single teen mother, by the age of 3 she was in Florida’s foster care system where she spent almost ten years being shuttled between 14 homes—some quite abusive—before being adopted from a Children’s Home at the age of twelve.

Despite her ordeal, she excelled in school because she believed that, “my education was the one thing nobody could take from me.”  Early in her life she felt compelled to advocate for herself and the other children she lived with, particularly in the abusive foster homes.

Her efforts and academic achievements landed her Eckerd College’s Trustee Scholarship—the school’s most prestigious full-tuition award.  She graduated with honors and ahead of schedule earning a double major in Communications and Theater and a double minor in Political Science and Psychology.  Ashley then went on to earn a Master’s Degree in Social Work from the University of Southern California.

During her undergraduate studies, she was one of 20 college students selected for the USA Today All-USA Academic Team and was named one of GLAMOUR Magazine’s Top Ten College Women.  She was also selected as one of the four Golden BR!CK Award winners for outstanding advocacy for community change by Do Something. As part of their campaign, she was featured on 25 million bags of Cool Ranch Doritos.  She was the Youth Advocate of the Year for the North American Council on Adoptable Children, has received the Kids to Kids National Service Award from the Child Welfare League of America, and was the recipient of two Angels in Adoption Awards from the Congressional Coalition on Adoption.

Ashley Rhodes-Courter

Ashley Rhodes-Courter

The quintessential American success story.

Search Ashley Rhodes-Courter | Author & Speaker
Share:
Profiles:
Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website. Update my browser now